Reading this week

Recently finished:

  • Tales from the 7000 Isles – I’m really glad I finally got around to reading this.  I really think folk tales help give me a very different picture of a country than I would get from a traditional history book.
  • Dietrich Bonhoeffer: Writings – I am so pleased to be done with this.  I do want to read either his Ethics or The Cost of Discipleship.  I do think I’d get a better feel for his theology in something more weighty than these little snippets.
  • The Wizard of Oz by L Frank Baum – This is my April book club book.  I forgot to grab a copy from the library, so I ended up listening to it as an audiobook during a couple of nature walks.  I’ll probably still grab it in physical form just so I can quote out of it better.  I’m still really confused about why killing beetles and mice is heartless, but beheading multitudes of creatures is totally okay.
  • The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke- I liked this well enough. I’m not sure if I’ll pick up book two, but my library has it in downloadable audiobook, so I might listen to it.

Currently reading:

  • Doing Our Own Thing by John McWhorter – this is still really interesting, but I haven’t made much progress.  I’m not bringing it with me on my trip, so this will be on hold till May.
  • Raising Steam by Terry Pratchett – this book can’t be renewed from the library and is due back before I’ll be home again.  My goal is to power through it today.  Sometimes I have a hard time getting into newer Discworld books, but I have high hopes for this one.

On the horizon:

  • Lots of magazines – I don’t have any magazine subscriptions, so it’s always a treat/splurge/guilty pleasure to buy copies of Lucky and InStyle to read at the airport.
  • I have 22 other unread books on my library bookshelf.  I haven’t decided which if any are going with me to Phoenix.  I might just wait and see what’s unread on the bookshelves down there.  This would also be a good time to re-read some old favorites.
This entry was posted in books, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

