Random quotations

I’ve barely been doing this blogging thing for a month and my brain is already tired and having difficulties thinking of things to talk about (that’s not entirely true.  I have several ideas, but I’m letting them linger until I have something less rambly to say about them).  Instead, here are some quotations I’ve jotted down in the last few months:

The function of imagination is not to make strange things settled, so much as to make settled things strange, not so much to make wonders facts as to make facts wonders.
– GK Chesterton, The Defendant

The test of all happiness is gratitude.
– GK Chesterton, Orthodoxy

Realism is simply Romanticism that has lost its reason… Romance means a holy donkey going to the temple. Realism means a lost donkey going nowhere.
– GK Chesterton, Alarms and Discussions

I could quote Chesterton for days.

She knew the thing which had upset her about Mary’s shocking remark was not the words, but the way Mary had said it in order to shock her.
– Diana Wynne Jones, Fire and Hemlock

It’s on my (forever long) to do list to re-read more Diana Wynne Jones books.

Marketing succeeds by purposely exploiting children’s vulnerabilities. Therefore, what you see as its “worst” effect will depend on your child’s weaknesses or predilections.
– Susan Linn, Consuming Kids

We can’t escape values – our own or those belonging to other people. Whether we’re aware of it or note, whatever we voluntarily choose to do, say or create communicates our values. The converse is true as well. Inactivity, silence, and acts of destruction also reflect and express our values.
– Susan Linn, Consuming Kids

I’m still thinking about parts of this book which is what I love about reading. I love the way words can linger with me and encourage me to reflect about myself and the world around me.

And I think that’s it for today.

This entry was posted in books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

