What I’m reading

Last week, I had said I was going to read lots of my library books to clear off my bookshelf.  How well did I do?

Recently finished:

  • The Incident of the Harrowmoor Dogs by Daniel Abraham – I enjoyed it as a fantastical Sherlock pastiche.  I have to confess that I’ve never actually read a Sherlock Homes story (the author wrote about some of the motivation for writing these stories, and apparently I skipped the period in my youth for colonialist fiction), but I liked this and would be willing to read a full novel.  I might be willing to give in against my dislike of ebooks and get the other two stories.
  • The Ordinary Princess by M. M. Kaye – this is another book that I apparently missed during my childhood.  This would have been a good one for my book club, because we all enjoy talking about childhood and fantasy.  I love stories that play on fairy tale storylines and outcomes.
  • Wolf Tower by Tanith Lee – This book was fine.  I liked the beginning world building.  I’m curious about the history of the world.  I liked the way the book didn’t end the way one might have expected from the beginning.  But I didn’t really like Claudi and her role in the story. Until the very end, she seemed very reactive to everything going on around her, which just wasn’t very interesting to read.  I might have liked this book more when I was a teen because I liked “journeying and learning about the world around you” stories more back then.

Three books.  Three fairly short books.  I rediscovered the ability to watch full episodes on hgtv.com and then got distracted watching old episodes of Property Virgins instead of reading. Oops?

Currently reading:

  •  Dietrich Bonhoeffer: Writings – I have a strong memory of someone telling me that Bonhoeffer was a theologian that everyone should read.  I thought these excerpts would be an easy introduction to his writings.  According to Goodreads, I’ve been reading this since February.  It’s interesting, but I think I would have done better with just reading The Cost of Discipleship, which would have given me more motivation to read more than a short section at a time.  On page 77 (of127).
  • The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke – I’m liking this one.  Maybe I’m finally past my YA fantasy slump.  I thought the beginning was a bit abrupt, but as I get further in the book, the universe is fleshing out and Ananna is terrific.  On page 155 (of 295).
  • Doing Our Own Thing by John McWhorter – I’m not entirely sure why I picked this one up (probably an impulsive recommendation) but I’m finding it really interesting.  I enjoy the connections I’m finding between books about language (like Spell It Out) and books about change in culture (like Why Johnny Can’t Sing Hymns).  I’m beginning to think I’m getting better at seeing the connectivity of different subjects (or else I’m reading more books about the same sorts of things).  On page 97 (of 254)

On the horizon:

  • Francis of Assisi – Assuming I ever finish the Bonhoeffer book, this is next on my list of religious writings I’d like to read.
  • Tales from the 7000 Isles – I love world folklore and I love hearing about the Philippines.  I’ve had this book on my shelf for a few months and periodically flick through to read a quick story, but I need to buckle down and read through it before I have to return it to the library.
  • Raising Steam – I love Discworld.  I’ve been a bit disappointed by some of the more recent books, but this one looks really good.

Also, I have a cookbook on my shelf (The Best Recipe) and I’m having difficulty determining when a cookbook counts as “read.”  I’ve flipped through it, made note of recipes that sounded good, read bits of advice on how to cook better, and made a couple of recipes.  It’s not like I’ve read the whole thing cover to cover, but I’m also not likely to read much more than I’ve already done.  Reference books are hard.

This entry was posted in books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

