Closet clean out begins!

Over the next several weeks, I plan on documenting my initial closet clean out (interspersed with thoughts about whatever books I’m currently reading).

I’m going to be looking at my dresses, skirts, tops, pants, sweaters, outerwear, and shoes (wow there are a lot of clothing categories).  I’m also sorting through my at-home, exercise, and under-clothes, but I’ve made the decision that no one actually needs to read about those.

I even pulled down my spring/summer clothing box so that I could sort through everything all at once instead of having to do this again in a few months.

Clothing I don’t plan to keep will go into my sell/donate pile.   I haven’t had a huge amount of success with most of the local consignment shops, but I console myself by thinking something is better than nothing.  That’s also what I remind myself when I get 1/10th the original book price back when I sell to Powell’s or Bookman’s.

I think I’m supposed to have lots of pictures on my blog.  Isn’t that the thing?  Blogs are way more visual than they used to be.  If I had been more thoughtful, I would have taken a before picture of my closet and maybe a shot of my out-of-season storage (i.e. a box kept on the shelf in my closet).

My picture taking equipment consists of an oldish Samsung point-and-shoot (I bought it in 2010, which is ancient by cheap camera standards) and my phone.  I’m interested in the idea of taking outfit photos, but I dislike the idea of putting lots of pictures of myself on the internet.  I don’t think I currently read any outfit blogs that don’t include pictures of people wearing said outfit, but I might throw in (blurry) photos of my clothes arranged on my dirty carpet (my vacuum cleaner broke last week).  That’s practically style blogging, right?

It’s really for the best that I have zero expectations of ever becoming a big time blogger.  Since I don’t plan on mentioning this to my real-life friends and I’m terrible at commenting on other blogs, I have expectations approaching zero that anyone other than me will ever read any of this.

This entry was posted in clothing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

