Books Read in 2013: part 2

I spent a lot of 2013 re-reading books from my teenage years, but I also discovered several new-to-me authors.

Books re-read:

The Wild Magic quartet by Tamora Pierce – I love these books.  They were my comfort reads throughout college.  Back in middle school I had a fansite for Tamora Pierce (and other much beloved authors) and she emailed me.  I still have that email saved away.

The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia Wrede – I love books that rework popular fantasy themes.  I went through a huge dragon phase in middle school so I loved these a lot.  They also were my gateway to my favorite Patricia Wrede book, Mairelon the Magician (which I love so very much and everyone should read)

New to me:

House of Shadows by Rachel Neumeier – I had read the Griffin Mage trilogy back when they came out (well, read the first and skimmed through the other two;  I was curious how it turned out, but it wasn’t really my thing) but I liked House of Shadows much more.  Partly because it was more the type of magic I like to read about and partly because I love apprentice stories.

Silence by Michelle Sagara – one of my besties back in high school had read through everything by Michelle Sagara West but they were way too epic for me.  I enjoyed Silence and thought it contained an assortment of characters that I don’t generally get to read in YA urban fantasy, which is a very good thing.  Looking though this author’s bibliography, I might try reading her Elantra books.

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – I picked this up after a  mention by DefinitelyRA (this post I think.  I read several blogs without ever commenting.  I feel like a creepy stalker, but I think anonymous lurkers are part of the blogging system) and loved loved loved it.  The water horse races were very vivid and I loved Puck. The ending was heartbreakingly lovely.

Ruby Red (and sequels) by Kerstin Gier – I don’t like ghosts, I don’t like time travel and I don’t like books filled with teenagers that I wouldn’t have liked back when I was in high school.  Yet somehow I loved this trilogy.  Books 1 and 3 were terrific (two felt like a filler, but I usually feel that way about the middle book in a trilogy).  It was also pretty predictable, but in a charming sort of way.

This entry was posted in books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

