Books Read in 2013: part 1

Books have always been my preferred entertainment medium.  I successfully kept my 2013 resolution to keep track of all the books I read (109 books read!) and am trying it again for 2014.  A complete list of the books I read can be found via my GoodReads account if anyone is actually curious.

The books I read fall under three main categories: Non-fiction, YA fantasy, and adult fiction (mostly fantasy)

My favorite non-fiction I read last year?

  • Deep Economy by Bill McKibben – this one was actually a re-read for me.  I listened to it on audiobook back in 2009.  I’m not sure if I have any deep thoughts about this one (although I know i should) but it definitely calls for a realization of how interconnected human actions are.  Our current methods of evaluating the strength of the economy don’t take into consideration the environmental and social hurts caused by a desire for cheap products.
  • Script and Scribble by Kitty Burns Florey – surprisingly fun.  I’m not entirely sure why I decided to pick up a book on handwriting but I enjoyed the history and spent a few days being more conscious of how I write.  I also enjoyed the nostalgia of thinking back to how I learned to form letters (it’s not weird that I learned cursive by copying the examples in family’s H encyclopedia, right?)
  • Common Sense 101: Lessons from Chesterton by Dale Ahlquist – I love most anything written by or about GKC.  This was a good combination of his excerpts with context and biography.
  • More or Less by Jeff Shinabarger – my church read an entirely forgettable book during our stewardship campaign last year.  I had just finished reading More or Less and thought it was a much more compelling and thoughtful call to generosity and giving.  It also had an encouragement to think outside of the box and consider the different ways to give.  I sorted through my books and clothes (two areas where I have “more”), and sold/donated to my church’s various fundraising needs.
  • Amusing Ourselves to Death and Technopoly by Neil Postman – I’m not a huge TV person, so all his points about how TV and modern technologies have changed society got a lot of nods from me.
  • Happy City by Charles Montgomery – one of the big reasons I wanted to move away from Phoenix (and ended up in Portland) is because I hate driving.  I want the option to walk places and take public transit.  I tend to read nonfiction that mostly agrees with the way I already think (which I think is pretty normal for recreational reading preferences) so this was a winner with me.  Also, the cheerful color scheme of this cover makes me super happy.
This entry was posted in books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

